Political Science

Political Science

  • About
  • Facully Profile
  • Academic Resource
  • Routine
  • Result
  • Departmental Achievements
  • Gallery
  • Syllabus

About The Department

Political Science is a social science which deals with the system of governance and the analysis of political activities, political thoughts, associated constitutions and political behaviour. It includes numerous sub-fields including comparative politics, political economy, international relations, public administration and public policy which forms the under-graduate syllabus offered by University of Calcutta to which Dr. Kanailal Bhattacharyya College is affiliated.

Studying Political science deepens the understanding of one of the most powerful forces of society operating on people, communities and individual. They gain many analytical and practical skills including the ability to conduct research, framing public policy because of its vast nature of subject matter. It was with this objective the Department of Political science started its journey in the year 1986 with general course. Later, Honours course was introduced from the year 1998-99. The department offers undergraduate course affiliated to University of Calcutta.

Prof Samsul Alam was the first faculty who served the Department from its inception till 1999. At present it has two full-time faculties- Prof Anasua Chatterjee, Associate Professor who joined the Department from 28.03.2001 and Sk. Saddam Hossen, Assistant Professor joined from 19.09.2019 and one SACT-II( State-aided college teacher.) Prof Ellora Bhattacharyya who joined the Department from 19.09.2000. Prof. Anasua Chatterjee is also the Head of the Department.

All the Faculties of the department are actively engaged in various academic pursuits including publication of articles in seminars, workshops, journals (both National and International) besides fulfilling the responsibility of imparting quality education to the students. Prof Anasua Chatterjee has successfully undertaken two UGC funded Minor Research project till date. The department has a organized UGC sponsored National level seminar in 2013 entitled ‘Political System in India with special Reference to West-Bengal’ and Dr. Kanailal Bhattacharyya Memorial lecture where eminent scholar of International relations Late Purosattam Bhattacharyya addressed the audience. It has organized inter-departmental symposium along-with department of History titled ‘Contemporary India in the 20th Century: Issues and Challenges’ in 2019 and a seminar on IPR on 21.09.2019 in association with IQAC.

The department believes in collaborative learning and overall comprehension of material and therefore to measure that both formal and informal forms of assessment like projects, class participation through student’s seminars, group discussions, debates are held. The department has been regularly engaged in faculty exchange Programme with Bijoy Krishna Girls’ College Howrah as part of extension activities. The department encourages students to participate in seminars, debates, publication of wall- magazines, participation in ‘Youth Parliament competition organised by Ministry of Human Resource Development to bring out their talent. The department has been winning prizes in youth Parliament competition since 2001. It stood second at district level in 2017 and first in 2019. It has also successfully participated at the Presidency Level competition. Advancements in technology have propelled the education sector in the last few decades. The internet has become greatly beneficial in classroom setting as it provides unlimited resources. The department has also developed an e-learning Centre which has been extremely beneficial for students especially during the pandemic induced by Covid-19 to get access of study materials and lectures pertaining to their syllabus. The department at present is continuing with the process of imparting relevant information through online classes regularly and is totally committed to the all- round development of the students.

  • Prof. Anasua Chatterjee

    Associate Professor

  • Prof. Sk.Saddam Hossen

    Assistant Professor

  • Prof. Ellora Bhattacharyya


Dharmatala, Ramrajatala,
P.O. – Santragachi, Howrah.
Pin – 711-104,
West Bengal, India

(College Office)